13 replies to this topic

Cattbird

Cattbird

Junior Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 98 posts
  • LocationChelmsford, Essex
I am trying to hatch miniature Silkies and my last 3 batches of eggs have all developed fine.. until day 20/21 then died. Yolk absorbed, in position, but not broken the air cell or pipped, they still have lots of veins in the membrane indicating that they weren't quite ready to hatch. It's been devestating performing egg-topsies on them all when I should of been putting them in the brooder  :cry:

I have one fluffy black and white baby out of the hatches at least.

Does anyone know why they die in the shell like this?

I have a theory that I'd like to share.. but remember i'm a total beginner with chickens and egg hatching so correct me please if you know different..

The eggs are from eBay. They are tiny anyway, due to their breed. I'm starting to think it's an air cell problem and either 1.) The air cell is getting damaged, detatched, or weakened in transit. The chick is able to grow bigger than it should due to the air cell being damaged. When it comes to the last days the chick absorbes the egg, gets all ready to hatch but finds herself stuck, unable to manover heself around to brake the air cell due to her size. Then perishes.
2.) Higher humidity. Higher humidity causes a smaller air cell as the liquid inside the egg cannot be evapourated as required and the air cell has no where to grow in to. So the chicks are water swamped and larger.. also sticky. Then die in shell or drown on pipping.

I am going to "Dry incubate" my next batch. But if all of the above is wrong, or dry incubating doesn't help my chicks stay smaller and be able to pip what should I do? I feel like opening all the eggs on day 20 before they die to at least give them some chance at life.. but I realise they may probably die this way to from being not ready to hatc or bleeding to death from haemorage.

Thanks for reading that essay!!

Catt.

WILLOW

WILLOW